Clemson University Clemson, South Carolina

MINUTES

Research and Economic Development Committee CLEMSON UNIVERSITY BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Executive Board Room Madren Center Clemson, South Carolina October 5, 2023 10:55 a.m.

Call to Order

Notification as required by the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act was given at least twenty-four hours before the meeting by posting the notice and agenda on the bulletin board located at the ground floor public entrance of Sikes Hall, Clemson University and on the Clemson University Board of Trustees website. Additionally notice of, and the agenda for, the meeting was sent via email to the distribution list maintained by the Office of Media Relations which includes approximately 80 reporters and editors at the major daily newspapers, television and radio stations in S.C.

After notification as required by the Freedom of Information Act, Trustee Smith called the meeting to order at 11:40 a.m. with the following present:

Committee Members: Bill Smith, *Chair*; Joe Swann, *Vice Chair*; David Dukes, Nikki Haley, Louis Lynn, Mark Richardson; Bill Hendrix, *Emeritus*; and Tom McTeer, *Emeritus*

Trustees: Ronnie Lee, Patti McAbee, Nicky McCarter, Smyth McKissick, Bob Peeler, and Kim Wilkerson

Trustees Emeriti: J.J. Britton, David Wilkins, and Allen Wood

Administration: James P. Clements, President; Tony Wagner, Executive Vice President for Finance and Operations; Max Allen, Vice President and Chief of Staff; Hank Morrow, Executive Secretary to the Board of Trustees; Robert Donato, Chief Strategy Officer; Robert H. Jones, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost; Chip Hood, General Counsel and Special Advisor to the Board of Trustees; Lisa Knox, Associate Vice President and Executive Director for Office of Institutional Excellence; Chris Miller, Vice President for Student Affairs; Felicia Benton-Johnson, Vice President for Diversity and Inclusive Excellence; George Askew, Vice President for Public Service and Agriculture; Angie Leidinger, Senior Vice President for External Affairs and Senior Advisor to the Board of Trustees; Rick Petillo, Chief Financial Officer; Tracy Arwood, Chief Ethics and Compliance Officer; Brian O'Rourke, Vice President of Advancement; Julio Hernandez, Assistant to the President for Community Engagement and

Outreach; Brian Voss, Vice President and Chief Information Officer (via web); and Graham Neff, Director of Athletics

Guests: Joe Galbraith, *Marketing and Communications*; Beth Crocker, *Office of General Counsel*; Ronnie Chowdhury, *Civil Engineering*; Nathan McNeese, *Computing*; Brian Powell, *Faculty Representative to the Board of Trustees*; Chase Casper, *CURF*; and Danielle Arrington, *Office of the Board of Trustees*

Media: Caitlin Herrington, Post and Courier; Abby Suggs, The Tiger

Hank Morrow called roll of the committee. Trustee Smith noted a quorum was present.

Joe Galbraith introduced members of the media.

<u>Information Items</u>

1. External Affairs Report

Angie Leidinger presented.

2. Junior Researcher of the Year

Nathan McNeese presented.

3. Director of National Center for Transportation Cybersecurity & Resiliency

Ronnie Chowdhury presented.

4. University Research Report

Tanju Karanfil presented.

<u>Adjourn</u>

There no being no further business, Trustee Smith adjourned the meeting at 12:51 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Hank Morrow

Executive Secretary to the Board of Trustees

April S. Purvis 02/08/24
Approved Date