Clemson University Clemson, South Carolina

MINUTES

Institutional Advancement Committee CLEMSON UNIVERSITY BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Executive Board Room Madren Center Clemson, South Carolina October 5, 2023 1:40 p.m.

Call to Order

Notification as required by the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act was given at least twenty-four hours before the meeting by posting the notice and agenda on the bulletin board located on the ground floor public entrance of Sikes Hall, Clemson University and on the Clemson University Board of Trustees website. Additionally notice of, and the agenda for, the meeting was sent via email to the distribution list maintained by the Office of Media Relations which includes approximately 80 reporters and editors at the major daily newspapers, television and radio stations in S.C.

After notification as required by the Freedom of Information Act, Trustee Richardson called the meeting to order at 2:00 p.m. with the following present:

Committee Members: Mark Richardson, *Chair*; Cheri Phyfer-Kubu, *Vice Chair*; Ronnie Lee, Smyth McKissick, and Bill Smith; Bill Hendrix, *Emeritus*, and David Wilkins, *Emeritus*

Trustees: David Dukes, Louis Lynn, Patti McAbee, Nicky McCarter, Cheri Phyfer-Kubu, Bob Peeler, Joe Swann, and Kim Wilkerson

Trustees Emeriti: J.J. Britton and Allen Wood

Administration: James P. Clements, *President*; Tony Wagner, *Executive Vice President for Finance and Operations*; Max Allen, *Vice President and Chief of Staff*; Hank Morrow, *Executive Secretary to the Board of Trustees*; Robert Donato, *Chief Strategy Officer*; Robert H. Jones, *Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost*; Chip Hood, *General Counsel and Special Advisor to the Board of Trustees*; Lisa Knox, *Associate Vice President and Executive Director for Office of Institutional Excellence*; Chris Miller, *Vice President for Student Affairs*; Felicia Benton-Johnson, *Vice President for Diversity and Inclusive Excellence*; George Askew, *Vice President for Public Service and Agriculture*; Angie Leidinger, *Senior Vice President for External Affairs and Senior Advisor to the Board of Trustees*; Rick Petillo, *Chief Financial Officer*; Tracy Arwood, *Chief Ethics and Compliance Officer*; Brian O'Rourke, *Vice President of Advancement*; Julio Hernandez, *Assistant to the President for Community Engagement and*

Outreach; Brian Voss, Vice President and Chief Information Officer (via web); and Graham Neff, Director of Athletics

Guests: Kevin McKinney, CCIT; Joe Galbraith, University Relations; Scott Smith, CCIT; Danielle Arrington, Office of the Board of Trustees; JoVanna King, Development and Alumni Relations; Wil Brasington, Alumni Association; Jaqueline Summer, Development and Alumni Relations; Larissa Wilke, Development and Alumni Relations; Missy Penland, Development and Alumni Relations; Karen McCauley, CUF; Holly Duncan, University Relations; Dave Dryden, University Relations; and Missy Ryan, Development and Alumni Relations

Media: Caitlin Herrington, Post and Courier; Lauren Pierce, Seneca Journal

Hank Morrow called roll of the committee. Trustee Richardson noted a quorum was present.

Joe Galbraith introduced media in attendance.

Executive Session

Trustee Richardson said it was necessary to go into executive session to discuss confidential naming opportunities related to gifts where the donor has requested anonymity at this time and pending contractual negotiations related to gift agreements. He noted no votes or action would be taken.

Trustee Lee moved to enter executive session. Trustee Phyfer-Kubu seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously. The committee entered executive session at 2:01 p.m. and returned to public session at 2:20 p.m.

Action Item

1. Naming Opportunities

Brian O'Rourke presented the naming opportunities.

Trustee McKissick moved to approve the naming opportunities. Trustee Phyfer-Kubu seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

<u>Information Items</u>:

1. Advancement Update

Brian O'Rourke provided an update.

Karen McCauley provided an update from CUF.

2. University Marketing and Communications Update
Max Allen, Joe Galbraith, Holly Duncan, and Dave Dryden presented.
A 11
<u>Adjourn</u>

There no being no further business, Trustee Richardson adjourned the meeting at 2:56 p.m. Respectfully submitted,

Hank Morrow
Executive Secretary to the Board of Trustees

April S. Purvis	02/08/24
Approved	Date