## Clemson University Clemson, South Carolina

#### **MINUTES**

# Research and Economic Development Committee CLEMSON UNIVERSITY BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Executive Board Room
Clemson University - Zucker Family Graduate Education Center
North Charleston, SC
February 1, 2024
12:30 p.m.

#### Call to Order

Notification as required by the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act was given at least twenty-four hours before the meeting by posting the notice and agenda on the bulletin board located at the ground floor public entrance of Sikes Hall, Clemson University and on the Clemson University Board of Trustees website. Additionally notice of, and the agenda for, the meeting was sent via email to the distribution list maintained by the Office of Media Relations which includes approximately 80 reporters and editors at the major daily newspapers, television and radio stations in S.C.

After notification as required by the Freedom of Information Act, Trustee Smith called the meeting to order at 12:17 p.m. with the following present:

Committee Members: Bill Smith, *Chair*; Joe Swann, *Vice Chair*; David Dukes (via web), Louis Lynn (via web), Mark Richardson; and Bill Hendrix, *Emeritus* 

Trustees: Ronnie Lee, Patti McAbee, Nicky McCarter (via web), Smyth McKissick, Bob Peeler, and Kim Wilkerson

Trustees Emeriti: J.J. Britton, David Wilkins, and Allen Wood

Administration: James P. Clements, President; Tony Wagner, Executive Vice President for Finance and Operations; Max Allen, Vice President and Chief of Staff; April Purvis, Executive Secretary to the Board of Trustees; Robert Donato, Chief Strategy Officer; Robert H. Jones, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost; Chip Hood, General Counsel and Special Advisor to the Board of Trustees; Lisa Knox, Associate Vice President and Executive Director for Office of Institutional Excellence; Chris Miller, Vice President for Student Affairs; Felicia Benton-Johnson, Vice President for Diversity and Inclusive Excellence; George Askew, Vice President for Public Service and Agriculture; Angie Leidinger, Senior Vice President for External Affairs and Senior Advisor to the Board of Trustees; Rick Petillo, Chief Financial Officer; Tracy Arwood, Chief Ethics and Compliance Officer; Brian O'Rourke, Vice President of Advancement; Julio Hernandez, Assistant to the President for Community Engagement and

Outreach; Brian Voss, Vice President and Chief Information Officer; and Graham Neff, Director of Athletics

Guests: Kevin McKinney, CCIT; Andrew Newton, Office of the General Counsel; Danielle Arrington, Office of the Board of Trustees; Hai Yao, College of Engineering, Computing, and Applied Sciences; Richard Boyles, College of Agriculture, Forestry, and Life Sciences

Media: Fox Carolina; Juliana Coates, The Tiger; Kailyn Kelly, The Tiger; Caitlin Herrington, Post and Courier (via web)

April Purvis called roll of the committee. Trustee Smith noted a quorum was present.

Max Allen introduced members of the media.

### Approval of Minutes

Trustee Swann moved to approve the October 5, 2023 meeting minutes. Trustee Richardson seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

University Research Report

Dr. Tanju Karanfil presented.

Biomedical Innovations Improving Musculoskeletal Health

Dr. Hai Yao presented.

Junior Researcher of the Year: The Cereal Grains Breeding and Genetics Program: Crop Improvement for Farmers in SC and Beyond

Dr. Richard Boyles presented.

External Affairs Report

Angie Leidinger presented.

# <u>Adjourn</u>

There no being no further business, Trustee Smith adjourned the meeting at 1:48 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

April S. Purvis
April Purvis

Executive Secretary to the Board of Trustees

04/04/2024

April S. Purvis
Approved Date