Clemson University Clemson, South Carolina

<u>MINUTES</u> Student Affairs Committee CLEMSON UNIVERSITY BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Executive Board Room Clemson University - Zucker Family Graduate Education Center North Charleston, SC February 1, 2024 10:00 a.m.

Call to Order

Notification as required by the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act was given at least twenty-four hours before the meeting by posting the notice and agenda on the bulletin board located on the ground floor public entrance of Sikes Hall, Clemson University and on the Clemson University Board of Trustees website. Additionally notice of, and the agenda for, the meeting was sent via email to the distribution list maintained by the Office of Media Relations which includes approximately 80 reporters and editors at the major daily newspapers, television and radio stations in S.C.

After notification as required by the Freedom of Information Act, Trustee McAbee called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. with the following present:

Committee Members: Patti McAbee, *Chair*; Joe Swann, *Vice Chair*; Bob Peeler, Chery Phyfer-Kubu, Mark Richardson, and J.J. Britton, *Emeritus*

Trustees: Ronnie Lee, Louis Lynn (via web), Nicky McCarter (via web), Smyth McKissick (via web), Bill Smith, and Kim Wilkerson

Trustees Emeriti: Bill Hendrix, David Wilkins, and Allen Wood

Administration: James P. Clements, *President*; Tony Wagner, *Executive Vice President for Finance and Operations*; Max Allen, *Vice President and Chief of Staff*; April Purvis, *Executive Secretary to the Board of Trustees*; Robert Donato, *Chief Strategy Officer*; Robert H. Jones, *Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost*; Chip Hood, *General Counsel and Special Advisor to the Board of Trustees*; Lisa Knox, *Associate Vice President and Executive Director for Office of Institutional Excellence*; Chris Miller, *Vice President for Student Affairs*; Felicia Benton-Johnson, *Vice President for Diversity and Inclusive Excellence*; George Askew, *Vice President for Public Service and Agriculture*; Angie Leidinger, *Senior Vice President for External Affairs and Senior Advisor to the Board of Trustees*; Rick Petillo, *Chief Financial Officer*; Tracy Arwood, *Chief Ethics and Compliance Officer*; Brian O'Rourke, *Vice President of Advancement*; Julio Hernandez, *Assistant to the President for Community Engagement and* *Outreach*; Brian Voss, *Vice President and Chief Information Officer*; and Graham Neff, *Director of Athletics*

Guests: Kevin McKinney, CCIT; Andrew Newton, Office of the General Counsel; Danielle Arrington, Office of the Board of Trustees; Dr. Leslie Pekarek, Student Health Services; Leasa Evinger, Housing and Residence Life; John Shoemaker, Student; and Hunter Stokes, Student

Media: Fox Carolina; Juliana Coates, The Tiger; Kailyn Kelly, The Tiger; Caitlin Herrington, Post and Courier (via web)

April Purvis called roll of the committee. Trustee McAbee noted a quorum was present.

Max Allen introduced media in attendance.

Approval of Minutes

Trustee Phyfer-Kubu moved to approve the October 5, 2023 meeting minutes. Trustee Richardson seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

VPSA Update

Chris Miller provided an update.

MUSC Psychiatric/Psychological Services

Dr. Leslie Pekarek, Interim Executive Director, Redfern, presented.

Residential Living/Learning Update

Leasa Evinger, Interim Vice President for Housing & Residence Life, provided an update.

Student Spotlight - Greek Life Briefing and Panel

John Shoemaker, President, IFC, and Hunter Stokes, EVP, IFC presented.

Executive Session

Trustee McAbee stated it was necessary to enter executive session to discuss greek life student matters covered under the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA). She noted no votes or action would be taken while in executive session and the committee would not reconvene in public session.

Trustee Richardson moved to enter executive session. Trustee Peeler seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously. The committee entered executive session at 11:05 a.m.

<u>Adjourn</u>

There being no further business, Trustee McAbee adjourned the meeting at 11:20 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

April S. Purvis April Purvis

Executive Secretary to the Board of Trustees

April S. Purvis Approved

04/04/2024

Date