Clemson University Clemson, South Carolina

MINUTES Executive and Audit Committee CLEMSON UNIVERSITY BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Executive Board Room Madren Center Clemson, SC April 5, 2024 9:30 a.m.

Call to Order

Notification as required by the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act was given at least twenty-four hours before the meeting by posting the notice and agenda on the bulletin board on the ground floor, public entrance, Sikes Hall, Clemson University and on the Clemson University Board of Trustees website. Additionally notice of, and the agenda for, the meeting was sent via email to the distribution list maintained by the Office of Media Relations which includes approximately 80 reporters and editors at the major daily newspapers, television and radio stations in S.C.

After notification as required by the Freedom of Information Act, Chair Wilkerson called the meeting to order at 9:01 a.m. with the following present:

Committee Members: Kim Wilkerson, *Chair*; David Dukes, Patti McAbee, Nicky McCarter, Smyth McKissick, Bob Peeler, Mark Richardson, and Bill Smith

Trustees: Nikki Haley, Ronnie Lee, Louis Lynn, Cheri Phyfer-Kubu, and Joe Swann

Trustees Emeriti: J.J. Britton, Bill Hendrix, David Wilkins, and Allen Wood (via web)

Administration: James P. Clements, *President*; Tony Wagner, *Executive Vice President for Finance and Operations*; Max Allen, *Vice President and Chief of Staff*; April Purvis, *Executive Secretary to the Board of Trustees*; Robert Donato, *Chief Strategy Officer*; Robert H. Jones, *Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost*; Chip Hood, *General Counsel and Special Advisor to the Board of Trustees*; Lisa Knox, *Associate Vice President and Executive Director for Office of Institutional Excellence*; Chris Miller, *Vice President for Student Affairs*; Felicia Benton-Johnson, *Vice President for Diversity and Inclusive Excellence*; Greg Yarrow, *Interim Dean of the College of Agriculture, Forestry and Life Sciences*; Angie Leidinger, *Senior Vice President for External Affairs and Senior Advisor to the Board of Trustees*; Rick Petillo, *Chief Financial Officer*; Tracy Arwood, *Chief Ethics and Compliance Officer*; Brian O'Rourke, *Vice President of Advancement*; Julio Hernandez, *Assistant to the President for Community Engagement and Outreach*; Graham Neff, *Director of Athletics*; and Brian Voss, *Vice President and Chief Information Officer* (via web) Guests: Jon Clayton, CCIT; Danielle Arrington, Office of the Executive Secretary to the Board of Trustees; Davis Babb, IPTAY CEO; Billy Milam, IPTAY President; Adam Fisher, Internal Audit

Media: Caitlin Herrington, Post and Courier

April Purvis called roll of the committee. She noted a quorum of the committee was present.

Max Allen introduced members of the media in attendance.

Approval of the Minutes of February 2, 2024

Trustee Smith moved to approve the February 2, 2024 meeting minutes. Trustee Richardson seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

Athletics and IPTAY Report

Graham Neff provided an athletics update. He highlighted the Men's Basketball Elite 8 appearance, the addition of new head Women's Basketball coach, Shawn Poppie, and construction updates to Jervey Gymnasium. He also discussed the success of the women's sports programs.

David Babb & Billy Milam provided an IPAY update. They included a revenue update and shared the strategic action plan for IPTAY.

Written Reports

Chair Wilkerson acknowledged previously distributed reports from Inclusive Excellence, Compliance, and Internal Audit.

Executive Session

Chair Wilkerson stated it was necessary to enter executive session to discuss a number of matters including personnel matters related to cemetery staffing and also personnel at CURI, environmental security item and pending contractual negotiations, to receive legal advice covered by the attorney client privilege regarding Athletics litigation, as well as to receive an update related to IT security matters at the University. She stated no votes or action would be taken while in executive session and the committee would not reconvene in public session.

Trustee McCarter moved to enter executive session. Trustee McKissick seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously. The committee entered executive session at 9:34 a.m.

<u>Adjourn</u>

There being no further business, Chair Wilkerson adjourned the meeting at 11:53 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

April S. Purvis

April Purvis Executive Secretary to the Board of Trustees

April S. Purvis Approved

07/18/24 Date Approved