Clemson University Clemson, South Carolina

MINUTES

Institutional Advancement Committee CLEMSON UNIVERSITY BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Executive Board Room Madren Center Clemson, SC July 18, 2024 10:15 a.m.

Call to Order

Notification as required by the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act was given at least twenty-four hours before the meeting by posting the notice and agenda on the bulletin board located on the ground floor public entrance of Sikes Hall, Clemson University and on the Clemson University Board of Trustees website. Additionally notice of, and the agenda for, the meeting was sent via email to the distribution list maintained by the Office of Media Relations which includes approximately 80 reporters and editors at the major daily newspapers, television and radio stations in S.C.

After notification as required by the Freedom of Information Act, Trustee Richardson called the meeting to order at 10:07 a.m. with the following present:

Committee Members: Mark Richardson, *Chair*; Cheri Phyfer-Kubu, *Vice Chair*; Nikki Haley, Ronnie Lee, Smyth McKissick, and Bill Smith; Bill Hendrix, *Emeritus* and David Wilkins, *Emeritus*

Trustees: David Dukes, Louis Lynn, Patti McAbee, Nicky McCarter, Bob Peeler, Joe Swann, and Kim Wilkerson

Trustees Emeriti: J.J. Britton and Allen Wood

Administration: James P. Clements, President; Tony Wagner, Executive Vice President for Finance and Operations; Max Allen, Vice President and Chief of Staff; April Purvis, Executive Secretary to the Board of Trustees; Robert Donato, Chief Strategy Officer; Robert H. Jones, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost; Chip Hood, General Counsel and Special Advisor to the Board of Trustees; Lisa Knox, Associate Vice President and Executive Director for Office of Institutional Excellence; Chris Miller, Vice President for Student Affairs; Greg Yarrow, Interim Dean of the College of Agriculture, Forestry and Life Sciences; Angie Leidinger, Senior Vice President for External Affairs and Senior Advisor to the Board of Trustees; Tracy Arwood, Chief Ethics and Compliance Officer; Brian O'Rourke, Vice President

of Advancement; Julio Hernandez, Assistant to the President for Community Engagement and Outreach; and Graham Neff, Director of Athletics

Guests: Quentin Adams, CCIT; Danielle Arrington, Office of the Executive Secretary to the Board of Trustees; Lisa Claxton, Office of the General Counsel; Jacqueline Summer, Marketing and Communications; JoVanna King, Advancement; Missy Penland, Advancement; Brian Powell, Faculty Representative to the Board of Trustees; Dave Dryden, Marketing and Communications; Alex Brooks, Marketing and Communications; Brian Lucas, Marketing and Communications; Holly Duncan, Marketing and Communications; Chas Williams, Marketing and Communications; Joe Galbraith, Marketing and Communications; and Porsche Elton, Marketing and Communications

Media: Caitlin Herrington, Post and Courier

April Purvis called roll of the committee. She noted a quorum was present.

Joe Galbraith introduced media in attendance.

Approval of Minutes

Trustee Smith moved to approve the April 4, 2024 meeting minutes. Trustee Haley seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

Executive Session

Trustee Richardson stated it was necessary to enter executive session to discuss pending contractual agreements for gift agreements and pending donations where certain donors wish to remain anonymous at this time. He noted no votes or action would be taken and the committee would reconvene in public session.

Trustee Phyfer-Kubu moved to enter executive session. Trustee Haley seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously. The committee entered executive session at 10:08 a.m. and returned to public session at 10:35 a.m.

Naming Opportunities

Brian O'Rourke presented the naming opportunities.

Trustee Phyfer-Kubu moved to approve the naming opportunities. Trustee Smith seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

Advancement Update

Brian O'Rourke provided an Advancement Update. He highlighted the increase of total philanthropic support as well as Advancement's numerous events and activities throughout FY24.

Board of Visitors – President's Hall Installation

April Purvis presented the request to approve the commissioning and requisition of drawings of each of Clemson University's 15 presidents, donated by the Board of Visitors to be permanently displayed in the new Alumni Building.

Trustee Smith moved to approve the Board of Visitors President's Hall Installation. Trustee Haley seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

University Marketing and Communications Update

Max Allen presented. He noted the work of the Marketing and Communications team to showcase Clemson's research story, with goals of broadening awareness of Clemson's status as a research institution among the three core audiences of prospective faculty, industry leaders, and academic peers. He also acknowledged the hard work of the Marketing and Communications team members present in the room.

Adjournment

There no being no further business, Trustee Richardson adjourned the meeting at 11:04 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

April S. Purvis

Executive Secretary to the Board of Trustees

April S. Purvis
Approved

10/17/24

Date Approved